top of page

Yoga for the Athlete


I'll admit it. The first time I ever saw someone doing yoga I wanted to bend over and look to see if there was a tear in my pants, too! Ha! No, but seriously, I really thought the sunbathed, tree-hugging Angelenos around me in the 100-degree yoga room had all gone nuts!

My friend had invited me to attend a hot yoga session with her at Moda Yoga and little did I know that the fainting feeling I was experiencing at the end of the class was not only due to the immense heat and pain I felt in my body, but also because I was six weeks pregnant.

Several weeks later I found out that I was definitely pregnant and decided to start eating anything and everything I wanted. But, my kind, loving college friend reminded me that all the pounds I would put on during the pregnancy would eventually need to be taken off--through heat and sweat. Yuck.

So, I decided to begin doing prenatal yoga and by the time my baby boy arrived I was ready to get back in the saddle and try this funky, "new age" exercise routine.

As a veteran athlete, I came into yoga pretty cynical and pessimistic about how well it actually worked out your muscles and burned calories. I was from the "old-school" mindset that had taught me to run off every calorie to loose weight and lift really heavy weights in the stinky gym to gain muscle. I was wrong! After a few sessions in my post-partum body with an extra 30 pounds to lose, I was gushing sweat and burning more calories than any dumbbell could have given me. Holding my own weight was the best workout ever!

So, I encourage you to give yoga a try. Whether you are a veteran athlete with track medals and Division I titles by your bed frame or just a soccer mom who's still codependent with the treadmill, give yoga another chance. There are numerous yoga studios now offering classes for beginners from every background and for those who want to incorporate their own spiritual faith into the practice. As a Christian, I love to pray and meditate on a scripture verse during yoga. It rejuvenates my body, mind and soul.

Whatever your exercise preference, I encourage you to take a step towards health and freedom today by trying something new and, who know's, you may just end up finding your new groove on a new mat!

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page