top of page

True Rest


Run, run, run...run, run, run...the pace just doesn't seem to get any lighter. I imagined that summer would bring more down time and more rest, but it only got busier! More events, work commitments, deadlines, birthday parties, travel and fun activities---all good things that keep life exciting, but also drain my battery.

I'll be honest, I walked into work this week and felt absolutely spent. My eyes were half-open and my body was dragging even after my second cup of coffee. I had a blast singing and dancing at our church's Vacation Bible School all last week and absolutely loved seeing my five-year-old son doing all the motions while praising Jesus! It was a week I'll never forget, but then after all the festivities and fun times I felt kind of sad, depressed and drained. Was my exhaustion because I didn't have fun or did something wrong? Was my adrenaline let-down due to something bad?

No. I had to remind myself that even good things, like Vacation Bible School and quality time with loved ones, can drain our bodies and even our hearts. It's okay to remember to rest and to know our limits. If we keep pushing ourselves past our "breaking points", then we won't be any good for anyone, including God. And even knowing when to say "no" is important so that we can have the energy to spend time alone with God and re-charge our hearts and bodies.

God reminded me of the amazing promise Jesus spoke to the Jewish people who were very tired: "Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light" (Matthew 11:28-30 NLT).

My goal for today and every day following is this: To do everything I'm called to do for God, but find the true value of rest and knowing the difference between my own ambitious pushing and God's leading. That is when I will find true rest.

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page