top of page

The Cure for Discontentment


"It's not fair! Why can't I have a birthday party today?" my five-year-old son yelled as he stomped his feet and threatened to never go to another friend's party again.

"Today is not your birthday, Solomon. It's your friend Lucas' birthday," I calmly replied as I sat him down on the bench next to our front door. I handed him his shoes and continued to study his furrowed brow as he put his socks and shoes on.

"But, why can't I have a party today?" he asked again.

"Because you already had a big birthday party in April for your birthday. Now it's time for us to celebrate Lucas and even though it would be great to get more gifts and toys today, it's just not your day. It's your Lucas' day and we should be happy for him." I could see the wheels turning in my son's brain as he thought about this concept---happy for others. Tough one.

After another minute, he looked up at me and said with a painful grimace, "This is hard, but I guess I should be happy for Lucas." I hugged him and we walked out the door to go to the party.

I'll never forget that moment with my son; he learned the joy of contentment. That lesson was worth more than all the shiny, awesome gifts or toys he could ever receive at a birthday party. He learned that true joy and peace in life doesn't always come when we get what we want. In fact, it's usually the opposite. True joy and peace come when we are content with our own circumstances and celebrating with others, even when it's something we wish we could have.

I thought about that moment again today and it brought a deep pang of conviction in the bottom of my gut. I thought to myself, Do I have joy, peace and contentment in my current circumstances? Or do I look at others around me or on social media with envy wishing I had a better body, nicer hair, more clothes, a newer car, bigger house, a fresh pedicure, less freckles, fewer wrinkles, more kids, more vacations and more?

God lovingly reminded me today that the greatest cure for discontentment is to celebrate others! Celebrating others brings a joy that overflows into my own circumstances opening my eyes to all the good things God has done in my life. I can still hear my grandmother singing to me whenever I whined or complained about my circumstances as a child, "Count your blessings, name them one by one. Count your blessings, see what God has done."

It's so easy to get caught up in the comparison games of this world, but I must remember what the Apostle Paul said, "Don't copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God's will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect" Romans 12:2.

Who are you going to celebrate with today? How will this help you to find joy in your present circumstances? Have you taken the time lately to thank God for all His blessings in your life?

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page