top of page

Contagious Joy


I drove across a single lane bridge in a remote area of Costa Rica that was filled with dense foliage resembling a scene from Jurassic World. My heart quickened as I drove through winding roads that had no guard rails, no boundary lines and no traffic rules. It was a whole new adventure for me and I didn't know what I was going to encounter, but as I drove into the small town of Orosi Valley and saw the many people living in extreme poverty walking with their children and stray dogs down the roads my heart grew heavy. Finally, the two ladies and I in our car drove up to a small, pink and green house that had a beautiful sign that said, "Semillas de Esperanza".

We parked the car, walked up to the front door and heard contagious laughter coming from within. As we came into the tiny building filled with bright colors, a large group of elementary aged girls ran towards us with arms wide open and unending smiles. These beautiful girls came from very humble circumstances in a country and society that labeled them as "hopeless" and as "property" from the time they were born. But at Semillas de Esperanza (Seeds of Hope) they are given another perspective about their potential and their future. From English and cooking classes to science and music classes, these young girls are instructed by volunteer teachers every day after school and shown that if they work hard and are given the right kind of instruction then they can change their lives forever and change their community.

From the moment I met each of these beautiful lives, my heart was greatly convicted and encouraged by their contagious joy. From a narrow-minded, American perspective, these girls have nothing that we think would cause them to be hopeful and joyful---poverty, potential prostitution and exploitation---but as I spent time with each of them I saw a new level of joy that I rarely see in America. These girls have hope for today and hope for tomorrow. Just one person believing in their potential and giving them the time to develop their minds, skills and faith in Jesus causes them to see their whole world differently.

I left Costa Rica with a new perspective about the beautiful people of the Orosi Valley and with a new understanding of what contagious joy looks like. My greatest prayer and desire is that I will take make the most of every opportunity to give that same contagious joy to others wherever I go.

"And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love." Romans 5:5 NLT

Reflection:

1. What gives you contagious joy?

2. Is your joy and happiness based upon your circumstances or is it based upon the hope that you have for the future?

3. Is your joy based upon the love you have for things or the love you have for God and for people?

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page