top of page

Giant Killers


I was reading the story of David and Goliath the other night to my preschooler and as we flipped through the colorfully illustrated pages of the legendary story about a young boy named David killing a mean, wicked giant named Goliath, my son asked, "Mommy, why did David want to kill the giant? Why did his brothers run away?" (1 Samuel 17 NIV)

At first, I thought that the answers to my son's questions were pretty obvious, but as I tried to explain them the overall concept and truth of the story became much more profound to my mind and I said, "Well, David's brothers ran in fear from the giant because they didn't think they had enough strength to kill him, but David ran towards the giant because he knew that his own simple faith in a big God was all he needed to overcome his fears."

As soon as the words left my lips, my heart was convicted by the truths I shared with my son and I asked myself: Do I run in fear from the giants in my own life or do I run towards them knowing that I don't have to have all the answers or strength because my God is big enough to conquer any giant who threatens me?

The giant Goliath taunted the Israelites with these words: "If he (soldier) is able to fight and kill me, we will become your subjects; but if I overcome him (soldier) and kill him, you will become our subjects and serve us” (1 Samuel 17:9 NIV).

Fear can taunt us and threaten to rule over us if we're not keeping our focus on God and His purpose for our lives in the midst of the battles of life. We may even battle our fears alone when others around us, just like David's brothers who were soldiers in the Israelite army, quake at the sight of their enemy and scold us for wanting to defeat him.

David reminded King Saul of what God had done for him in the past, "The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine" (1 Samuel 17:37 NIV).

David didn't wear fancy armor or use the latest weapons to defeat Goliath. All he needed was five smooth stones, his sling and a heart full of faith in His unwavering God.

What giants stand before you this new year taunting you and making you want to run in the opposite direction? If you're like me, there are many things I could list as my "giants" for 2019. The list of fears is endless. It could be the possibility of unemployment, losing your house, losing a relationship, being alone, asking someone for forgiveness and not finding reconciliation, or getting a bad report from the doctor. Whatever your fears may be for this year, there is no sure way to know whether or not they will conquer you. But, there is a way to be prepared and have a fearless, faith-filled outlook in the midst of both victorious and perilous circumstances---relying fully on the strength, love and faithfulness of our powerful God. He has a flawless reputation of conquering giants and every type of fear that may creep into the hearts of people. That's His specialty. He wants us to be filled with love, faith, and power having a quiet, peace-filled mind. He doesn't want us to be ruled by our fears running in the opposite direction of His best plans for our lives.

What are your giants today? How are you going to defeat them? You don't need all the money in the world, the latest technology or the most powerful people on your side; all you need is to talk to your Eternal Commander and ask Him to go before into each and every battle. God is for you and He is the undefeated Giant Slayer.

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page