top of page

Do it again!


It was the sixth time walking around the great, foreboding walls of the city that had frightened all of Joshua's friends and family members for the past forty years, and yet he still believed that God didn't want them to live in fear but to take hold of the Promised Land God had told them about for ages past. Over a million Israelites walked behind Joshua and the priests as they completed their sixth lap around the fortress walls of Jericho and I'm sure they began to complain that they were tired, thirsty, hungry and ready to give up.

I imagine that Joshua probably prayed quietly, "Oh Lord, please keep Your promises and don't let me look like a fool in front of all these people. You told us to march around these walls for seven days and a total of seven times on the last day so these walls would fall. I believe You are true to Your word and You will complete what You promised. So, Lord God Almighty, just as You parted the Red Sea and did countless miracles in the past, I believe today You will do it again!" (Joshua 5:13-6:27 NIV)

I can definitely relate to Joshua. When I'm stopped in my tracks by a giant fortress of problems or a situation that seems impossible, I begin to shake in my boots and think about all the things that could go wrong. I cry and lose hope when time is running out and no answers have been found. But, then God reminds me of all the ways He has provided in the past and done miraculous things beyond my expectations. A small glimmer of hope begins to grow in my heart.

How are you feeling about this New Year and all that may lie ahead? Are you feeling discouraged by the problems and disappointments of the past, or are you praying for God to do more miracles and bring new hope to your heart for the future?

I encourage you to start this New Year with a fresh, new, courageous perspective! If you have specific things that you're praying for God to do in your life, then I encourage you to join me the next 21 days as we pray and fast for God to do the impossible once again. Whether it's fasting desserts, coffee, social media or doing a Daniel Fast , God is faithful to respond to anyone who is desperate for Him and willing to sacrifice comforts for more of His presence and power in their lives.

This is my mission for 2019: "Do it again, God!" and this is the song to inspire our souls to pray for the impossible: "Do it again" by Elevation Worship.

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page