top of page

Limitless Faith


Several days ago was my son's fourth birthday. I'm still speechless wondering how four years could fly by so quickly. Crazy! It was a wonderful day full of pancakes, donuts, cake, balloons, games and fun. We didn't really plan much of a blowout birthday celebration for him, but it turned out to be a pretty amazing day for the little guy. We gave him one gift before school, he celebrated with his classmates and then we ended the day with a few of his closest friends and their families at Chuck-E-Cheese. It was a blast! Everything happened with ease and with the great excitement that only a four-year-old can muster.

As I watched my son running around Chuck-E-Cheese with his little friends playing the arcade games, their hearts were pounding and cheeks exploding with contagious smiles as they screamed in excitement seeing more and more prize tickets coming from each game they played. The fun felt endless and the kids had no worries that their arcade game cards would ever run out of money, that the pizza would be ready and that everything would be taken care of. They didn't think about tomorrow or the next five years. Their joy was untainted, uninhibited and in the moment. Limitless.

This morning I thought about that "limitless faith" that those four-year-olds displayed and I asked myself, Do I have limitless faith to believe that God will provide everything I need for each moment of this life? Do I think more about tomorrow than I do about today?

These are difficult questions to ask and even more difficult to answer because more times than naught I'm the one worrying about tomorrow instead of enjoying today. I'm anxious about bills, health, family, future and more. The worry list could go on forever.

It reminds me of what Jesus said, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own" (Matthew 6:25-34 NLT).

Why do I worry? My son Solomon was dressed in the splendor of joy as he experienced endless fun for his birthday just as God adorns us all with endless joy and limitless faith when we sit in His presence and trust Him. He wants to see His children enjoying the freedom of living in His presence with His grace and unconditional love. Join me today and everyday, as we pray for limitless faith and make the most of today's joys more than tomorrow's fears.

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page