top of page

What if...


The bullet shot through the air like a torpedo. Not only was one life lost and another severely injured, but many more were traumatized by the terror of rage that stemmed from one man's heart filled with anger and pain. Several weeks ago, this story rang true at a local mall close to where I live. In the heat of his anger, a man went to the mall, killed his wife and tried to take his own life. He is still in the hospital with severe head wounds from his attempted suicide, but the damage of his anger hurt more than his own body and his ex-wife; it hurt his children, the people in the mall terrorized by the thought of an open-shooter and the people who knew him and his family.

When I think of this terrible story and how awful it must have been for all those involved, I ask myself: What if this man would have chosen forgiveness instead of revenge? What if he had chose to lay aside his hatred and prioritized the lives of his children instead of the division between he and his ex-wife? What if...

The past week, I have been faced with the pain of my own wounds from people whom I trusted and those I had worked tirelessly to help but only received a cold shoulder from. It happens. That's life. But, it still doesn't feel good. My anger easily builds and my mind begins developing scenarios and excuses for why I should hate them and why I should take revenge on those who have hurt me. But, then I thought of the man who took matters into his own hands with a gun and the permanent destruction he brought to so many.

My own thoughts of anger can also turn into vicious words of destruction that can damage hearts and destroy relationships. It may not be a tangible bullet of lead, but it can bring death to relationships that I once held dear. But, what if I chose to forgive? What if I chose to pray for my enemy?

Celebrating Easter this weekend reminded me of another Man who asked Himself, "What if?" Jesus hanged on a splintered cross with blood flowing from his body and agony screaming from His body and He had every right to yell vicious words of hatred towards the people who had sentenced Him to death, but He didn't. Instead, He looked up to heaven and asked His Heavenly Father to forgive those who nailed His hands and feet to that cross, to forgive those who deserted Him in the garden and those who had stood silent and done nothing. He chose forgiveness.

What if that man who came to the mall had chosen forgiveness instead of rage? How would that have changed lives? What if I chose to forgive and let go of my pain instead of dwelling on my hatred for those that had hurt me? How would that have changed my day or changed relationships? What if?

Let me ask you, what if you chose to forgive the next time someone hurt you? How would that change history and change your life? Our Savior did it. Why can't we?

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page