top of page

A Time to Reflect


Christmas holds many different meanings for many people. Whether it's a time to see family and friends enjoying delicious food or a time to sing reverent hymns in a beautiful church, it's the one time of year when the human race is called to reflect on what matters most.

Personally, Christmas holds many wonderful memories from years past growing up in a loving family where my parents and grandparents tried to make it a joyous occasion filled with food, gifts, traditions and faith. Many of you could probably relate to my childhood experience of Christmas, but unfortunately there are many who cannot. Christmas holds unhappy memories in their mind of childhood abuse, neglect, poverty, starvation or loneliness. A sourness turns their stomach whenever Christmas songs are played.

As an adult, I can now see clearly the various impact that Christmas has on people and it makes me ponder the first Christmas that took place on earth---the night Jesus was born. He didn't have a warm, safe home to sleep in. He didn't have an expensive bassinet with plush blankets and adorable outfits. He didn't even have a bathtub to wash the remaining blood and fluids from his body after his birth. He had nothing. But he also had everything. He had a mother and earthly father who loved him more than words could describe. He had a Heavenly Father who had orchestrated the destiny of His life from beginning to end. And He had thousands of angels singing His praises in Heaven and on Earth. He had nothing and yet He had everything.

This is such a wondrous reminder to me that when I think life has left me with nothing, God has actually given me everything through His love and security in Him. Regardless of how many gifts I give or receive this Christmas, or how much food I have on my table, or how many people I see or don't see, there is One who already gave the greatest gift to me that I could never earn or repay---salvation.

Jesus could have come in any other way to this Earth, but He chose to come in the most humble state as a baby born into poverty but filled with the most perfect love and eternal security.

Have you taken the time this Christmas to reflect on what matters most? If everyone and everything around you was gone, would you still celebrate Christmas and the security of God's love for you? Is my life bringing love, joy, peace and security into the hearts of others?

I encourage you to ponder these questions and find a joy that will last beyond the holidays and throughout each year of your life. This is what matters most. Merry Christmas.

With all my love,

Jennifer

"For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Of the greatness of his government and peace there will be no end. He will reign on David’s throne and over his kingdom, establishing and upholding it with justice and righteousness from that time on and forever. The zeal of the Lord Almighty will accomplish this." (Isaiah 9:6-7 NLT)

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page