top of page

Favorite Christmas Beverages


Christmas is my favorite time of year and my favorite time to try all sorts of delicious combinations of spices and flavors! I enjoy creating new beverages and today I want to share with you just a few delicious and unique Christmas drinks that will have your taste buds and guests giving you their greatest "wow" expression.

From hot wassail to Mexican hot chocolate, these recipes each have a very special meaning to me because they take me back to a certain memory in my life reminding me of people I love so dear. As I share each recipe with you, I will also be sharing tidbits of funny and endearing memories that I hope will remind you to reminisce about all the wonderful people who have made such a loving imprint on your own heart. That is the beautiful thing of Christmas---it reminds us of God's love and the love we should always give and cherish with others.

Here are a few recipes that I want to share with you during this joyous season that I hope will warm your tummy and your heart.

Hot Wassail

My first encounter with this enchanting beverage came on a magical night when I was attending Evangel University in Springfield, Missouri and went to sing with my college choir at the Silver Dollar City Festival of Lights Parade in Branson, Missouri. With over 4 million Christmas lights and snow slowly drifting through the air, my three best girlfriends introduced me to a delicious, warm drink called hot wassail. At first, I thought it was apple cider but they assured me it was much more delicious than simple cider. Here's my favorite recipe that I have used for years from the blogger Jen Nikolaus.

Ingredients

  • 8 cups apple cider

  • 2 cups orange juice

  • ½ cup lemon juice

  • 4 whole cinnamon sticks

  • 12 whole cloves, or 1 teaspoon ground cloves

  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger

  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large pan.

  2. Bring to simmer over medium-low heat. Reduce heat and continue simmering for 45 minutes. Ladle into cups or mugs and enjoy!

Mexican Hot Chocolate

Mexican hot chocolate has been a Christmas favorite of mine since I was a little girl traveling to the Texas-Mexican Border to visit my grandparents who served as life-long missionaries and pastors in Mexico. Growing up in Ohio, I rarely spent a Christmas with my maternal grandparents, but during those few visits Mexican hot chocolate was one of the favorite treats that still reminds me of two people whom I loved so dearly. I hope this recipe will bring as much cheer to your heart as it does to mine!

Ingredients

  • 4 c. whole milk

  • 2 c. half-and-half

  • 1/2 c. dulce de leche

  • 2 Cinnamon sticks

  • 10 oz. 70% dark chocolate

  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

  • 1/4 tsp. Kosher salt

  • 1/2 c. bourbon (optional)

Directions

1. Whisk together milk, half-and-half, dulce de leche, and cinnamon sticks in a large saucepan.

2. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; cover and let stand 10 minutes.

3. Return mixture to a simmer over medium heat. Gradually whisk in finely chopped 70 percent dark chocolate, whisking until melted and smooth.

4. Remove from heat and stir in pure vanilla extract, kosher salt, and bourbon, if desired. Discard cinnamon sticks. Serve warm.

White Peppermint Mocha

During college while traveling the United States and Europe with my college choir, my favorite Christmas and winter beverage was a white peppermint mocha from Starbucks. But, since having a toddler I try to now recreate my favorite white peppermint mocha at home to make it more special for my son and our family. Try this yummy treat in a cup inspired by the wonderful blogger Bright Eyed Baker.

Peppermint White Chocolate Syrup*

  • 8 1/4 ounces (1 cup) heavy cream

  • 3 1/2 ounces (1/2 cup) granulated sugar

  • 4 ounces white chocolate, finely chopped

  • 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract

Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha
  • 4 1/4 ounces (1/2 cup) milk**

  • 2 tablespoons peppermint white chocolate syrup***

  • double shot of espresso (or about 5 ounces strongly-brewed coffee)

  • whipped cream, for topping, optional****

  • chopped/crushed peppermint candy, for sprinkling, optional

Peppermint White Chocolate Syrup
  1. Combine cream and sugar in a saucepan over medium heat and bring just to a boil. Meanwhile, place white chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl.

  2. Pour hot cream mixture over chocolate and let sit for 5 minutes. Whisk until smooth, microwaving for about 10 seconds if needed to ensure all chocolate is completely melted. Whisk in the peppermint extract.

  3. Strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a jar or other airtight container. Cool at room temperature, and then transfer to refrigerator to store.

Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha
  1. Heat milk and syrup until steaming and whisk to froth, or use a milk frother to heat and froth.

  2. Transfer milk mixture to coffee cup and pour coffee on top. Stir together. Top with whipped cream and peppermint candy, if desired.

*This will make enough for about 12 drinks.

Eggnog Coffee Punch

This recipe is a bit altered from the eggnog I grew up with, but it still brings a smile to my face every time I taste it because it reminds me of my father. Ever since I can remember, I dad has loved eggnog. As a little kid, I thought it was absolutely disgusting! Ha! But, as I grew older my tastebuds changed and eggnog grew on me. Here's a fun, creative option for your eggnog fix this Christmas season!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of coffee ice cream

  • 1 1/2 cups eggnog

  • 1 cup hot strongly brewed coffee

  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

  • whipped cream

Directions

Scoop the ice cream into a pan over low heat. Stir in the eggnog and coffee; and heat until warm, about 3 minutes. Pour into four glass or ceramic mugs. Top each with 1 tablespoon whipped cream and sprinkle with nutmeg. Serve immediately.

Merry Christmas! Enjoy!

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page