top of page

Vida Villanueva Dichoso - January Modern Female of the Month


One of the most kind, courageous women I have met in the past few years is Vida Villanueva Dichoso. She has been lifelong friends with my husband and his sister since they were kids in Northern California, and when I first met Vida I was amazed to learn that she, her husband and two children have been living abroad in several different countries the past few years for her job. Though living abroad may seem glamorous, they have experienced their challenges while also growing in ways they never imagined.

I decided to feature Vida as our Female of the Month for January because she has a wealth of experience and knowledge as a businesswoman, wife, mother and globe trotter. I hope you're as inspired by her story as I am!

My Interview with Vida:

1. What or who inspired you to pursue the professional career or role that you now have?

In all honesty, my inspiration comes from many people and events that have transpired in my life. My mom and dad are my very first examples. We immigrated from the Philippines to the United States when I was young, so watching both work very hard and make sacrifices for our family left a large impression on me.

Then it was getting to know the “stories” of others who have diverse experiences and lives. With each person I've met, there is always a lesson to be learned or something positive I take away from that moment. Sometimes, the biggest inspiration comes from the littlest things.

2. What challenges did you face in pursuing your goals?

Throughout my career in different industries that span 24 years, I've encountered many challenges. Early on, it was not being taken seriously because I didn’t have much experience which was really difficult to deal with when you're so eager to do something good. Later on, I encountered challenges around balancing personal and professional life. I don’t believe the balance will ever be at an equilibrium so, I make and take the time to prioritize the things that are important, whether it is time with my twin children, family time, work or even time for myself.

3. What lessons have you learned along your journey?

  • Be patient, persevere and be resilient through whatever life or career throws at you

  • Be open to the journey of life and career

  • Have faith that things will work out

  • Some of the best mentors or sponsors are the ones you least expect to build a relationship with. I cherish mine as they've provided me with such a different perspective and their presence in my life is immeasurable.

4. What are your future goals and why?

This is an interesting question because over time, the answer to this question has changed for me. When I was single, it was to build a professional career and find those opportunities in my career that would enable me to see the world.

After getting married and having twins, my goals evolved to include raising children who will grow up to be globally minded citizens while furthering my career. This is important to me as a human being who is part of a bigger picture. Traveling on vacation allows most people to see parts of the world for a short period of time and usually it's the commercial or tourist part of the country.

But, being an expat and living in multiple countries, provides a different view of the world we live in. It gives us a sense of appreciation for the kind of life we've been able to live. It's taught us to appreciate the little things and the big things, too. Most of all, it's given my family a perspective that at the end of the day, we are all human beings trying to make the best of the lives we are given.

Ultimately, my goal is to live a life fully close to those who we love and cherish. The time with those we love is not something you can get back and we must find those opportunities to spend time with those we love and still be able to do the things we need to do.

5. If you could give one piece of advice to other women, what would it be?

Don’t give up. This is our time as women and I am thankful of many who blazed the trail before us and for those who continue to. We have so much potential to change the way we contribute to the world both personally and professionally. I would love to see women pursue their dreams and leave a positive mark on this world even if that positive mark is with one individual or many.

*****************************************************************************

Vida and her family currently live in Mexico City where she works as an influential businesswoman and is experiencing many new adventures with her husband and twin children.

*To recommend a woman to be a "Female of the Month" for our blog, please contact us with their name, brief story/background and how they are changing lives for the better. CONTACT US

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page