top of page

Lovely Layers for Fall

One of my favorite things about Fall is that the mornings and evenings begin to get cooler, and then I still get a few hours of delicious sunshine to warm me up in the afternoon. Along with the beautiful autumn colors kissing the trees and the smell of apple cider and pumpkin pie, I also get excited when I get to layer many different pieces of clothing together for my outdoor adventures!

Growing up in Northeast Ohio, I learned at a young age the beauty and science behind fashion layering. Many people may think that it's a pretty simple task, but laying the right materials, styles and colors can actually take more effort than you think.

So, here are my tips on how to layer your clothes in the most practical and appealing way this Fall:

1. Humble Beginnings

Too many of us think that the first piece of clothing we put on needs to be thick and warm if the weather is getting cooler, but in fact it is much easier to begin with a simple, lightweight piece of clothing. So, after you take a shower and put on your underwear, I encourage you to put on a sheer camisole that is slippery and moves easily underneath other pieces of clothing. Cotton tends to bunch up and make you look bulky.

2. Build Your Base

On top of a simple, sheer camisole should come a solid piece of clothing that is either a solid color or has a very tiny print. Whether it's a white blouse or a eggplant purple turtle neck, make sure it is a color that will compliment the following layers and not be too hot underneath the other layers.

3. Embrace Contrast

Whether it is a polka-dot blouse, tweed vest or a loose 80s t-shirt, embracing new designs and styles is a big statement of your personality and your outlook on the day. Some days, I feel more like a cheerful polka-dot girl and other days I want to be taken more seriously with a tweed vest. But, whatever your mood or events for the day, make sure that the second layering piece can be versatile for all settings you will encounter (i.e. work, restaurant, lounge, girls' night, bookstore).

4. Expect Anything

I am terrible at keeping track of the weather forecast, and in fact I almost despise it because the weather always changes! Ha! So, in order for me to not be a grouch and be prepared for any type of weather, I have developed the joy of layering and wearing a coat or jacket that is quite versatile. Depending on where you live, the temperatures may be more drastic or mild, but either way you need to have a jacket that is versatile and not too bulky or hot. Here are several examples of lightweight jackets that are perfect for Fall and can be worn to work, restaurants or a birthday party!

5. Look in the Mirror

Most of the time when we are insecure about our appearance or our outfit, we tend to over-accessorize. Accessories are wonderful, but they should never take away from the true beauty of our face and our personality. People may admire your outfit, but let them admire you as a person even more. So, before you step out of your door in your beautifully layered Fall outfit, I encourage you to take a quick look in the mirror and see if there's anything taking away from your lovely face. As the bold, age-defying Coco Channel once said, "Before you leave the house, look in the mirror and remove one accessory."

You don't need expensive clothes to look amazing. You just need to keep it simple and embrace the beautiful woman inside you.

Keep smiling, lovelies!

 

Here are more of my favorites from my Amazon list! Let me know if you have questions.

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page