top of page

Love Beyond Borders


I sat down in the only empty seat I could find at church. The sanctuary was packed and with only a large ceiling fan swirling the air became stagnant and the putrid aroma of body odor filled my nostrils. Controlling my human instincts and gag reflexes, I controlled my thoughts trying to be like Jesus reminding myself of how much I love people and love to see them at church.

The service continued and my mind could not concentrate; the thick scent of urine and sweat continued to flood my senses and destroy all attentiveness. Finally, I nonchalantly looked around me to see where this horrid smell could be coming from and to my utter shame it was coming from the woman right next to me. The only seat left in the sanctuary was right next to this older woman who had probably not had a bath in weeks or months!

Mulling over all the courteous ways I could excuse myself from the sanctuary while the pastor was preaching, nothing in my mind seemed excusable. As I sat through what seemed to be the longest half hour of my life, I asked God for self-control and to numb my nostrils so that I could focus on the pastor’s message. But instead, I realized that God actually wanted me to concentrate on the woman next to me even more than on the message being preached. Just as my mind began listing all the reasons someone should take a shower and wash their clothes, the Holy Spirit hit my gut with this truth: You are no better than this filthy woman beside you for your sins and her sins are the same. I love her the same way I love you—with no bounds or hindrances.

Ouch! My heart ached and my shame began to burn a giant hole of guilt in my stomach. How could I come before a perfect, holy God believing that I am better than anyone else regardless of their hygiene, clothes, economic status, race, gender or spiritual journey?

The service ended and I did not take the opportunity I should have taken that day to talk with the woman sitting next to me. The only expression I could muster was a smile as she sheepishly looked at me from below the soiled hood of her jacket. I failed. God had given me the chance to show kindness, care and concern for another one of His children, and I didn’t take it. My heart was grieved the rest of the day and though I didn’t take the opportunity to encourage that woman I will never forget the lesson I learned: LOVE has no boundaries or borders; it goes beyond all comfort zones; it always goes the extra mile to show care and concern for another’s well being.

This experience reminded me of what Jesus said, “So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples” (John 13:34, 35 NLT).

The greatest love is the love that goes beyond all borders breaking us out of our comfort zones and pushing us past our selfish limits. Only Christ was able to show such perfect, unconditional love and only we can show that perfect love to others with His help.

Recent Posts

Join our mailing list!

bottom of page